SUR/FIN 2023 Recap

Thank you to all the attendees, exhibitors, and sponsors that made SUR/FIN 2023 a success!

We hope SUR/FIN provided valuable networking opportunities, conference sessions that allowed you to see advancements in the surface finishing industry, and direct access to leading suppliers.


SUR/FIN by the Numbers

2102 Registrants
180 Exhibiting Companies
72 Technical Sessions
4 Networking Opportunities including the Welcome Reception, Industry Night brought to you by OAMF, Women’s Reception, and Closing Reception Honoring Young Professionals
3 Keynote Presentations from Sharon Miller – NASA Glenn Research Center, Jeff Szotek – Sr. Technical Specialist, Stellantis, and Tim Hall, PhD. – Research Director, Faraday Technology, Inc.‎
2 Bootcamp Sessions



Economic Impact of Surface Finishing

Christian Richter, The Policy Group

Surface Finishing Boot Camp

The Electroplater’s Boot Camp was a free educational session that provided an introduction to various electroplating processes. This platform was designed to educate employees and personnel in the metal finishing industry by providing a comprehensive exposure to the general operation of metal finishing.

NASF Women’s and Closing Receptions   

2023 NASF Industry Awards

Awards of Merit– This award is given to individuals that demonstrate outstanding service on a local and/or ‎national level. The recipients have worked tirelessly and have selflessly devoted themselves to the industry.
Peter Tremmel, Accu-Labs, Inc
Tom Laken, Finishing Plating Services
Taormina Award– This award is one of NASF’s most prestigious. It is awarded to an individual who has ‎performed outstanding service to the finishing industry.‎
Patrick Hayden, Unimetal Surface Finishing, Inc.
Award of Scientific Achievement– This award recognizes a person who has contributed to the advancement of the theory ‎and practice of electroplating, metal finishing, and the allied arts; raised the quality of ‎processes and products; enhanced the dignity and status of the profession; or has been ‎involved in a combination of these efforts.‎
Tim Hall, PhD., Faraday Technology, Inc.
August P. Munning Award– This award is given to a supplier member who, in the opinion of his peers, has significantly contributed ‎to the future well-being of the Association and exemplifies the traits of August P. ‎Munning—including a great interest, hard work, dedication, and selfless devotion to the metal ‎finishing industry.‎
George Gilbert, Gilbert & Jones, Inc.
Presidental Award– This award focuses on the extraordinary service put forth by an NASF member who is actively participating on the national level, going above and beyond the capacity of most.
Christian Richter, The Policy Group
Jeff Hannapel, The Policy Group


We Can’t Wait to See You in Atlanta, Georgia
for SUR/FIN 2024!